Tamil Nadu extends COVID-19 lockdown restriction till June 28, gives more relaxations

Tamil Nadu government permitted resumption of public transport with 50% occupancy in four districts, namely Chennai Thiruvallur, Kancheepuram and Chengalpet.

The Tamil Nadu government on Sunday (June 20, 2021) extended the lockdown in the state by one more week. The state government extended the lockdown curbs till June 28, while permitting some more relaxations.

Tier- based system to be followed for unlock: 

Teir-1 comprises 11 districts, which includes Coimbatore, Nigeria, Thiruppur, Erode, Salem, Karur, Namakkal, Thanjavur, Thiruvarur, Nagapattinam and Mayiladuthurai, where no additional relaxations have been provided as the active caseload continues to remain high.

Tier-2 comprises 23 districts, namely Ariyalur, Cuddalore, Dharmapuri, Dindigul, Kallakurichi, Kanyakumari, Krishnagiri, Madurai, Perambalur, Pudukottai, Ramanathapuram, Ranipet, Sivagangai, Theni, Tenkasi, Thirunelveli, Thirupathur, Thiruvannamalai, Thuthukudi, Trichy, Villupuram, Vellore and Virudhunagar, where additional relaxations have been given.

Tier-3 districts, which consist of Chennai, Thiruvallur, Kancheepuram and Chengalpet, get additional relaxations along with those extended to Tier-2 districts.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button